Workset File Already Exists Sync Error
Overview
We came across a new error I had never seen before the other day, and there is absolutely no (or incredibly hard to find) documentation by Autodesk on solutions/cause.
Update 01
Spoke with Autodesk about this issue specifically. Autodesk stated specifically this was most likely due to a user double clicking into the file and accidentally opening an ‘unconnected local’ or some other mishap that doesn’t allow the user to create a local as normal. We tried numerous times to verify this but we were unable to. Additionally, after verifying the users were opening as local, the problem still persisted even with this. So in conclusion... no confirmation. However, since we followed all these steps, the problem has seemed to generally disappear.
“The file filename_user.rvt already exists. If you replace it, you will lose all of its backup versions. Do you want to replace the existing file?
The Problem
First Reaction
Naturally our first reaction was to immediately stop the user from syncing and cancel out this issue. The way that this error is worded makes it sound like you are replacing a central, working in a central, or doing something funky that you should be doing.
After multiple rounds of googling, we couldn’t figure out what Autodesk thinks about the issue, but we were able to solve it without losing any work.